Please Help!!! --> Norge 1000 Concerto Gold + Sony Speakers

rishiguru

Hi, this is rishiguru. I am currently in a state of confusuion of what to do. The thing is, as of now I am on a very tight budget and want to buy a decent amplifier for my pair of Sony SS-GN88D speakers.

This belongs to a Sony Mini-Hifi System MHC-GN77D that a guy bought six years back at Rs.28,000/--. The guy is a total noob in audio department, so he sold the speakers at Rs.1500/-

Speaker specification:
Speaker System: 3-way, 4-units, bass-reflex type (magnetically shielded)

Speaker Units:
Subwoofer : 8 inch X 1
Mid woofer : 3 inch X 2
Tweeter : 2 inch X 1

Rated Power : 150W per speaker
Nominal Impedence : 6 ohms

Dimension: 265 X 415 X 320 mm
Mass: 8.7 kg approx per speaker
------------------------------------------------------------

Now I am looking for a suitable amplifier within Rs.10,000 max. The problem is I live in Kolkata and it is very hard to find audiophile gear.

I have come in contact with a person who had bought the Norge 1000 Concerto Gold + Millenium Speakers at June,2011 from mumbai and wants to sell the amp at 10K because he is going for an upgrade.

Now I like bass and small mid woofers of Millenium speakers simply cannot produce anything below 60Hz. Also my budget limits me. Later I may think of a speaker upgrade.

Now my question is will i buy this amplifier? Also the amp is rated at 4 ohms. Can a 4 ohm Norge amp with the 6 ohm Sony speaker create problems like overheating or blowout?

And also, is a second hand Norge 1000 at 10k a good deal? Will i go for it?

He is ready to provide me the 3 year warranty card & purchase bill details. He is ready to give me an audition.

Last edited:
If the owner (if i am not wrong, he is a forum member too) is offering audition, warranty and bill then nothing like it. Audition it with your speakers and decide whether you like the sound or no. I liked the sound of the amp when paired with Quad towers.