Pseudo speaker sensitivity guide

corElement

When I was auditioning for speakers I was instructed to to have matching impedance on all speakers on an avr but I was never told regarding matching sensitivities. I'm relatively new to the hifi world and this is something that I feel should be useful for newbies like me.

My fronts were 93db
My rears were 85db
My center was 87db

When I connected all of them and adjusted db levels according to distance, I noticed my rears were considerably weak. I thought maybe my fronts are overpowering them. Obviously this was true so I raised my rear channel db levels by 5 my avr lets it go 8+ But I didnt understand WHY I was having to do this. then it occured to me, my towers were 93db, the db suddenly made sense, so instead of further raising the rears, I deduct my fronts by 3, increased the center by 3 and tada, now everything seemed just right.

So when you get an avr and have varied components, make sure you balance the sensitivity to get them to the right db level unless you prefer one having more than the other.

Audyssey's MultEQ? if avlb, will this be not an alternative?

Thats just a branding to an automated process, all avr's dont have them, and even if mine had it, I wouldnt use it. Automated processes often have drawbacks. Take the pioneer budget avrs like the latest 8xx, if you have large speakers that go down to 20hz without a sub the avr wont let the fronts go lower than 40hz, the remaining 20hz goes to a phantom sub which isnt there because of the automated config. To me thats just plain giving up control of what ones brain has a capability to hear and limit oneself to preset.

But that's a different subject all together. The post was aimed towards people who are new to hifi to understand the practical application of the term sensitivity.

Last edited: