Quality of the digital data output from a CD player/transport

shanmune

When some say that the CD transport is one of the most important components in an audio system chain, I used to think it was a myth. I used to wonder how a digital data output from two different CD players/transports can vary when playing a same CD. Later, I used to hear the word "jitter", but I didn't understand what it is all about it and I don't know if that was my ignorance on my part. Then, I came to read this article which gives a very simple and basic understanding about what jitter is. Though I am a noob, the article was easy to follow.

Digital Interfaces - An Introduction - Part 1.1 [English]

The above article is divided into 5 parts. The first three parts are very interesting to read and part#3 gives a very simple explanation about jitter in the digital-audio world.

Good article

The author classifies the digital interconnect in the following order. Highest quality first. ( jitter effect)

1) SPDIF
2) Toslink
3) USB - not well researched

I was under the impression that an asynchronous USB provides the best quality.
What is the experience of other FM s

I have the similar experience with digital connectivity.
SPDIF > OPTICAL > USB.

But there is a catch. USB will eventually be converted internally to similar stream as SPDIF. So, it is the implementation that matters. A good USB to SPDIF converter can make a big difference. But most of the USB DAC, and also DAC with USB connectivity for that matter, is poorly implemented.

Optical connectivity has limited bandwith. So although it provides good isolations from electrical interference and is not great for music as spdif.

How do we rate HDMI (purely on the grounds of digital audio transfer) against SPDIF > OPTICAL > USB ?
I know there are no audio ONLY components which use HDMI, but your thoughts on audio transfer ????

Last edited:
How do we rate HDMI (purely on the grounds of digital audio transfer) against SPDIF > OPTICAL > USB ?