Raspberry Pi 4 DAC Setup for Experimental Basis

samyboy_jssp

Folks,

I have a spare Raspberry Pi 4 8GB RAM available and want to use it as a Streamer / DAC purely for experimental basis.

While Allo Boss Player / USBridge / DigiOne Signature etc are currently unavailable at the moment - What are the options of leveraging my existing raspberry pi to achieve this ?

1) Do I need to buy a seperate DAC HAT for this ? If so which is the best DAC HAT for this purpose ?
2) Are there any other alternative options that I need to consider ?
3) Which Linux OS distro should I be looking to install on the Pi which is optimized for this purpose? (There are too many)
4) Which S/W is best suited for streaming music ? (There are too many)

Sorry I am a newbie at this. Would be great if experienced members could point me in the right direction regarding this.

I already have BTA30Pro and Topping E30 II DAC's in my existing chain and am looking to experiment with Raspberry Pi based options.

Thanks in advance,

Regards
Sam

Use rpi 4 its own usb to ur topping e30 dac and sound quit good. I am using the same e30 dac.
using volume / modde both are good for music
also using apple music through airplay on rpi4

Hi Sam,

You can use any DAC (External or Internal) with the Rpi 4. I can provide you with the tutorial also for installing Volumio with Peppymeter.

Hi Sam,

You can use any DAC (External or Internal) with the Rpi 4. I can provide you with the tutorial also for installing Volumio with Peppymeter.
Thanks Sandeep and rajivaryan1984.

Kindly do send the tutorial regarding the same ?

I will try out the external DAC Option first. Post that will look at the internal option

Quick Q - I have the Allo Shanti LPSU with me, ie both Power supply outputs can power both the DAC as well as the raspberry PI. I assume this should not be an issue.