Samsung 40EH5000- Terrible Ghosting and Banding

kookitan

Hey guys,

ive been using a 40EH5000 LED in my bedroom for about 6 months. (Purchased from ebay for 35k) and have been facing two issues.

1- Ghosting : When people move on screen or any fast moving scenes, the image tends to become a blurred and you can see a trail of their movement behind.

2- Uneven Bands/Patches in the display: For example during a cricket match when the ball moves across the outfield, you can see uneven patches of green across the field. Plain color backgrounds makes it really prominent.

I have a feeling that the panel might be faulty- Attached is a picture of the bands/uneven patches on a plain blue background. it may not be visible on the picture but its pretty bad when noticed up close.

- Is there anything which can be done? ive tried literally every picture mode on the tv with no luck.
- Will Samsung India honor the warranty? its a grey market piece.

Connected via HDMI to airtel HD and home PC.

Thanks

I can understand what you may be going through. Once we know there's a problem with the TV you cannot ignore it. In fact you keep looking for it.

I'm no expert on this. However, based on what I've read, I think, the problems you described are very common with LED LCD TVs (may be higher end models do better). I'm afraid, Samsung won't provide any warranty support as it's a grey market product. That's the risk associated with buying grey market products. Still worth contacting Samsung customer care just hear what they say. All the best!

I'm afraid, Samsung won't provide any warranty support as it's a grey market product. That's the risk associated with buying grey market products. Still worth contacting Samsung customer care just hear what they say. All the best!

One of my friend have faced same problem with SONY BDP & 32" LCD EX500, Contacted sony india service center. They just charged service charges as per out of warranty system & corrected the faults. Charges were nominal.