SL-10 with Plinius M7 Pre-Amp

ksbadri

Hi Guys - Need some help.

I bought an SL-10 in good condition recently. I connected it to my Plinius M7 Pre-amp through the phono connection. The cartridge is the original EPS-310MC. The person who sold it to me hasnt played this in years as he sold his pre-amp many years ago.

When I started playing the Vinyls, I can hear that the vinyl is playing if I place my ear close to the the turntable, but nothing can be heard from the speakers.

I am not able to figure out if the issue is with the pre-amp or the turntable. BTW the pre-amp works with other sources such as Onkyo SACD/CD player.

If anyone knows how to rectify, please respond.

Thanks
Badri

First of all congrats on your purchase. Its a pretty nice model which featured the first direct drive among the linear tracking TTs.
Coming to your problem, let me tell you that the faint sound you are hearing is just the sound reproduction at the point of contact b/w needle & disc.
In case you have a multitester, place one probe lead to the centre pin of RCA connector & one probe pin to the outer connecter RCA. Polarities dont matter here. YOu should ideally get a reading (value not important) on both left & right RCA out channels. In case, it reads 0, then you probably have a dry soldering/bad connection/bad cable or at the worst an open circuit in the cartridge. I sincerely pray that you dont fall to the last category else you will need to replace the cartridge. This much on the TT side.