Sound System under 1.5 Lakhs

Tuhin Lavania

Hello all,

Wanted to buy a Sound System.
Budget is under 1.5L, I already have a 65" 4k HDR screen and a Nvidia Shield.
Room Size is 20*14
Interested in Dolby atmos, and i have zeroed on Onkyo HTS 9800THX.
This is my first time buying any sound system so i have no experience in these kind of stuff. I live in Ankleshwar, Gujarat.
Any help will be appreciated. Thanks :)

Last edited:
Hi. I was also thinking of going for the same model. But other FMs advised me to go for AVR and speakers separately. Given your budget and room size, it's ever better for you to go separately if you have no urgency.

Budget is under 1.5L

For a budget of approx 1.5L, you can build better systems than Onkyo HTIB systems..

Consider Pioneer LX 303, a 9.2 AVR.. You can either settle for 7.2.2 (or) 5.2.4 set-up, depending on your room layout & preferences..

For the remaining budget, you can consider speakers / subwoofers..

Speakers and subwoofers are available at different price ranges.

You may consider 7.2 AVR (like Denon 1500H) at around 50k.
You will get SVS PB1000 subwoofer at around 60k.
You may buy bookshelf speaker pair for around 50k. (SVS, KEF, B&W etc.)

You may add tower speakers as fronts later and move bookshelf as surrounds. Add Center channel to make it 5.1 setup.
It is better to build a good setup step by step.

If you would like to have complete setup in 1.5 Lakhs, you can consider Polk/Taga/Dali speakers

Thanks for the reply :)
Problem is, i want to buy all of it in first buy. Its difficult to convince wife and parents again and again coz i spend too much now and then on gaming :p
Also, i want a 9.2 receiver so thinking to get a Pioneer LX 303. ( That is 75k right now ) So that leaves me around 75-85k for speakers and subwoofer.
How do these TAGA TAV 506 or 606 speakers sound ? I will check out the reviews but just asking. Will buy 10 speakers of those and one subwoofer around 30-35k.