Strange problem with Tata Sky Plus HD - Need Help

Illusionist

I have been facing an issue with my Tata Sky Plus HD STB for the last 4 months approx. Some programs get randomly recorded without me scheduling recording for them. The red button for recording glows throughout the duration of the program and I am unable to cancel the recording at that time for these recordings by pressing "TV" and then "Select". Also once the program is over, I can see the entry by pressing the "Plan" button and then selecting "Recorded" programs. But these entries only have "Play from Start" option. The other options like Lock, Delete etc. are not available. And selecting "Play from Start" does not play the recording but switches the channel to the original one from which the program was recorded and shows the current program on that channel.

This kind of bogus recording entries have accumulated to a handful in these past months and I do not know a way of getting rid of them. Scheduled recordings work as usual and I don't have problem with these.

I contacted Tata Sky CC and they instructed me to format the disk. I do not want to format the disk and lose my genuine recordings. Please help me if you have been facing a similar issue and have been able to solve it.

I have Tata Sky Plus HD since Feb 2011 (since launch) and this issue has started occurring since May 2013.

If program is recording, then press "SELECT". You will see a pop-up, then press "(R)" again to cancel the recording. It works on your STB? As you mentioned there are many features are not available you should try to upgrade the firmware.

This used to happen to my HD+ box as well. Random programmes would start recording and the box behaved exactly as you described. Before I could contact Tata sky, I had to go abroad for nearly 4 weeks during which time my box was not used. When I came back the problem disappeared! During this time there were some firmware updates. Wonder if that did the trick?