Studio monitor or hifi which is better for personal music at home ?

sinhabhit

I am confused that should I buy active studio monitors or tower speaker with stereo amp. I need it for just listening music. I donot do any kind of mixing. I saw Tannoy reveal 802 studio monitors are cheap and comparable to buying bookshelf and amp. Please help in making my decision.

Hi

Every one has different tastes in music and budget....depending on what appeals more to you...head in that direction.....traditionally, most would purchase an integrated amp + good speakers...you can add more components and also get better refinement in sound...

Powered /Active speakers would limit inputs and also the sound quality....

I have zero knowledge on music, but i bought Genelec studio monitors + Sub.
And i am super happy from last 6 months.

So it's better, you audition first and know your taste.
Sound quality wise, Studio monitors are far above than Passive speakers. That's why they are being used in Studios.

Last edited:
If you want to analyze your music get studio monitors and if you want get emotionally connected to your music get HiFi.

If you want to analyze your music get studio monitors and if you want get emotionally connected to your music get HiFi.

I disagree, i enjoy the music and emotionally get connected also with my studio monitors.

Another small FYI - Owner of this Hifivision forum and Hifimart owns studio monitors at his home. And he is in this industry for more than 30+exp.

Last edited:
I think the greatest benefit of going separates is future upgrade ability. Separate components are easier to change /upgrade whilst powered speakers have to change in entirety. The studio monitors being too analytical is over rated in my opinion, as they all have certain tonal characteristics built in and it's up to the listener to decide what feels transparent to them. Otherwise all studio monitor's would sound the same wouldn't they?