The next audio interface, spending less than 24,000

Thad E Ginathom

Having keenly followed the DAC around INR 100k thread, and been left with ambitious desires for equipment such as Burson Conductor, Lavry DA11, Grace, etc etc, even knowing that such stuff is outside my reach for four or five years, I've formulated a plan for the next affordable upgrade for my PC listening.

On a very quick visit to Stereo, (Singapura Plaza, Singapore) I tried on a pair of Audese LCD2s for size. For size, rather than for sound: I was was really curious to see if they were physically comfortable, as, very early in my headphone experience (I'm a beginner) I've realised that it is not worth even listening to something you couldn't stand being on your head. Well, yes, they are, and eminently desirable in every way that I had time to hear/notice.

What I also noticed was what they were plugged into: ifi iDAC -> ifi iCAN. What I couldn't fail to notice was the effect of the "3D sound" switch, which amazed me. I've wondered about crossfeed for hp listening for a while (sometimes dreaming of the Phonitor). ifi's 3D, if not the same as crossfeed, has much the same effect: moving the sound from the middle of one's head and taking it in front, without blurring, dulling or loosing treble.

Actually, my intention is to have a really good headphone amplifier, and the DAC is incidental to that, but I'm, sure that my Audiofire2 can be improved on.

Matching boxes always look nice, and the iDAC/iCAN combination looks very good, and is only moderately expensive. Actually, the iDAC includes headphone amplification, but I want that 3D gadget! And that leaves me feeling that I'm wasting some money there on one hp-out that I don't need.

The ifi pair is not terribly expensive. Thinking in UK pounds, it comes to 385 (bought in Singapore) but "nearly 400" has a very different ring to it than "under 300," and so I am planning to pair the iCAN with an ODAC.