Urgent!! Help to buy a home theatre for builder site. Have no previous experience

sharma0

Hi all,

I am very new to purchasing home theatre systems, I have taken quotations from Jamo and polkaudio dealers here in Gurgaon but all seem to be around 1.2 - 1.5 lacs. I am not sure if I am getting the value for money for the system. I have a room size of 26 x 15 ft in which i want to place a 5.1 home theatre system with a subwoofer. I have a budget of 1 - 1.25 lacs for the system with the subwoofer. Kindly suggest model numbers and brands that I can look at. Would be great help if someone can provide the dealer's contact also.
Presently jamo has suggested C405 floor standing speakers, a C400 central and 2 C401 surround speakers. The subwoofer is Jamo 650. This system has been quoted at 1.2 which I think is high.

Really confused, Please help.

More details regarding the room
1). Room Size (LxBxH) in fts : 26 x 15 x 10 ft
2). Whether Dedicated Room : (Yes or No) Yes
3). Your Main Use of HT : (Music / Movies / Both) Movies
4). What Kind of speakers : (Floor Standers / Bookshelves) Floor standers
5). Budget inclusive of : (HT Only or HT with Video) HT only
7). Is your House under construction (For Cables) : (Yes or No) YES
8). If Possible the drawing of the HT... don't have yet

First, I think you should listen to more speakers than just the polk and jamos. There are multiple threads for 5.1 systems in the 1 lakh range.

You can check my own thread from a year back. I had auditioned and found the 5.0 Jamo c605 series available at around a lakh ( I had a sub ).

Decide on your whole system and not just speakers.

What about source/avr/projector/screen/cables and acoustic treatments, do you have a separate budget for that?

Yes I have a separate budget for those. I need to put up a projector, I was recommended by someone to go for a JVC or panasonic and then (not sure about the model number) and will be investing on acoustic treatment as well.