• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Vertex Stabilizer Noise

Home Theatre Systems

PravinJ

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Messages
28
Points
3
Location
Chennai
Hi Everyone,

I have been using Vertex 3KVA stabilizer for the last few months. I am hearing some noise (like it switches on something), whenever there is some voltage drops or at random time interval. The noise is not heard continuously. Is this is a normal behavior?

P.S: They mentioned that the stabilizer was specifically made for AV components and has noise filters.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Pravin.
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

mshifi

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
779
Points
43
Location
hyderabad
I use a 4kva. Was having similar problem sometimes. Go it serviced and the problem has reduced. Occasionally it happens, nothing series.
 

sidvee

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,897
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
That is normal, and a drawback of servo stabilizers, all brands will do it. It is adjusting the voltage whenever it experiences a spike or drop. If it bothers you, then you have to look for some other solution rather than servo stabilizers.
Cheers,
Sid
 

PravinJ

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Messages
28
Points
3
Location
Chennai
That is normal, and a drawback of servo stabilizers, all brands will do it. It is adjusting the voltage whenever it experiences a spike or drop. If it bothers you, then you have to look for some other solution rather than servo stabilizers.
Cheers,
Sid
Thanks Sid. What about UPS, Do they have the same behavior?
 

sidvee

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,897
Points
113
Location
Hyderabad
Thanks Sid. What about UPS, Do they have the same behavior?
No ups will not exhibit this behaviour but if you want a 3kva UPS you will have issue of cooling fans and also it will be a much larger unit, so it will be a different challenge.
Cheers,
Sid
 

blackscorpio

Active Member
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
455
Points
43
Location
Hyderabad
No ups will not exhibit this behaviour but if you want a 3kva UPS you will have issue of cooling fans and also it will be a much larger unit, so it will be a different challenge.
Cheers,
Sid
Servo OCCASIONAL noise is nothing compared to online ups CONTINUOUS fan noise
 

sriram_shol

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
357
Points
43
Location
Coimbatore
This is very normal when there is any dip or up in the voltage. There will be a very mild tug sound when voltage goes up or comes down.

The service personnel told me specifically not to worry on this. There will be a rotator (Attached the image. Mine is 5kVA) on top of the transformer which would rotate during voltage variation and would come to ~230V. The varying power will let the rotator circumambulate and come to the position where it supplies ~230V for the consuming appliances.

IMG_20190504_160520_9.jpg
IMG_20190504_160602_6.jpg

Nothing to worry. It's built solid and a class performer. If you need assistance, call them up, they will take care.
 
Last edited:
SPONSORED ADS

Top