What is the secret of these speakers?

rajafan

I am a newbie to this forum but an oldie to Hi-Fi world.

In the 80s, I used to go to a tea shop to listen to my favourite music. Two boxy speakers were placed on a plywood sheet on a wooden pole. They had no tweeters. I assume they had only a 12” FR drivers. They were facing noisy road. That was the transition period from TT to cassette. I have heard them in both.

It is tough to explain the sound signature of those speakers in words. But let me try. The Drums, Tablas and Mridhangam are layered, bouncing, tight, deep and heavy. You can feel the slam of the mid bass in your chest. The lows. mids and highs are equal in volume without over powering one another. The tight, punchy and slamming mid bass is still ringing in my ears. I am looking for such a speaker for the last 20 years.

I have used the following in the past:-
FS : B&W, Klipsh, Tannoy, custom made
SW ; Velodyne, SVS, custom made
Amp : Parasound, Yamaha
CDP : Rotel, Marantz
BS : Swans
Multimedia : Logitech, Swans and IBall

I have auditioned the following in the past:-
FS : Wharfdale, Emotiva, Sonodyne
BS : Wharfdale, QA, NHT, Emotiva, JBL
SW : Wharfdale, Emotiva, SVS ported

I swear none of the above systems could produce the sound signature I am looking for.

My son is a headphone guy. To avoid hearing loss, I bought him an IBall speakers. I was not even bothered to read the specs as it costs less than a cable. Recently I disposed my stereo setup to start again in a clean slate. So I borrowed these speakers from my son and using it since a week in my 12x12 bedroom.

Here is the surprise. With little tweaking, these cheap IBall speakers precisely produce the sound signature I was looking for the last 20 years. It brings me the nostalgia of those tea shop speakers and my college days. Song after song, it reminds me of how much music I didn’t hear all these years from the same tracks I am very familiar with.