Which external hard drive should I buy?

rohitmusic

Hi Friends,

Can you please suggest a good external hard drive which is reliable?

Minimum storage 1 TB. Looking for 1.5 TB with USB 3.0

I already have a 500GB WD and another 250GB WD. Need a new one to store photos (DSLR - JPEG large)/music.

You can suggest specific models. (browsed online but there seems to be too many to choose from) So need your opinion :)

Thanks!

Last edited:
I have been using a Transcend hard drive for 4-5 years now with no problem...However it is never mentioned on the forum...Has anybody had a bad experience with Transcend drives?

yeah go for WD
As I guess WD offers 2 year warranty or more. but seagate and other brands offer only one year.

I am using two 1tb seagate harddisk for more than 2 yrs no issue... seagate after sale s is good in pune...never used wd. Yes it gices 3 yrs warranty...

I have been using a Transcend hard drive for 4-5 years now with no problem...However it is never mentioned on the forum...Has anybody had a bad experience with Transcend drives?

Yes, I've had bad experiences with Transcend a couple of times. The first one failed on me after about 4 years, and the second one after 2 years. Luckily for me, my data was backed up on another hard drive.

I use WD now, and so far have no issues.

On a side note, I have found transcend flash drives to be reliable. Still use a 256MB pen drive that I bought in 2005.

Best,
APK

Hi Friends,

Can you please suggest a good external hard drive which is reliable?

Minimum storage 1 TB. Looking for 1.5 TB with USB 3.0

I already have a 500GB WD and another 250GB WD. Need a new one to store photos (DSLR - JPEG large)/music.

You can suggest specific models. (browsed online but there seems to be too many to choose from) So need your opinion :)

Thanks!

I would say stick to WD. They are the most reliable in my opinion. I used to have Transcend before, but moved to WD after a couple of the Transcend HDs failed on me.