Why all the hype over Android

corElement

So I've been using a windows phone 7 smartphone for a few months and got to play around with some android devices recently and I have to ask..How do people survive with android? the ui is laggy..the os is so cluttered.. the interface is bloated with useless elements and the apps have no linear standard and each one is different. The battery gets guzzled by non standardized apps. No doubt the android app market is huge but 90% of those apps are not the ones people use daily.

How did android even become this popular? It's a resource hog! It takes multiple cores and a lot of ram to perform compared to iOS and WP7. WP7 does with 600mhz and 256 mb ram that android takes dual cores and a gb's of ram. The lower end android devices are so horribly laggy!

I noticed the interface is very laggy compared to wp7 as well. Got a huge headache trying to wrap my head around android's clutter.

Even here surveys show people unhappy with android and needing technical support more than ios or wp7

Mobile Operating Systems - Readers' Choice Awards 2012: Smartphones and Mobile Carriers | PCMag.com

What's making people flock to it? just random word of mouth? It makes me think of a bunch of rats jumping off a cliff at the music of a piper!

Last edited:
Yep, android comes with its share of niggles. As you have rightly pointed out, its a resource hog. What iOs and WP do with a single core, android would need dual core to run things smoothly and probably an extra dose of RAM.

Now what attracts people, generally, to it. I believe, android, is similar, to our Windows PC experience. So the people do not feel like they are leaving their comfort zone. (eg. sideloading apps, lots of free software). You can do pretty much anything, though it may not do it in the most efficient manner. A sense of freedom.