Will these Andrew Jones speakers go with my Pioneer receiver?

kpatel

Hi, I am a beginner here. Have been trying to understand the basics of Home theatre but the more I read the more I get confused. SO I will clearly lay out my concern now.
I already bought Pioneer vsx 924 - Its specification says 135 W/ch (6 ohms 1 kHz THD 1.0 % 1ch Driven)
75 W/ch (8 ohms 20 Hz-20 kHz THD 0.2 % 2ch Driven)

Now for this receiver, I wanted to buy The Andrew Jones AJ-5235XT

What my concern is that the receiver is underpowered for the speakers that I want. These speakers cost the equivalent of USD 1000 here in India. Based on my understanding, since the receiver is only 1 ch driven the speakers will not be utilised to their capacity and I am wasting my money buying these huge speakers. Am I going somewhere wrong in understanding something? Sould I buy these speakers, should I look at something else? I have limited choices in brands because I live in India. My living room is 15 by 15 feet but it is an open plan living room which opens up to the dining room and kitchen. We mainly use a projector for our viewing. Help!

Patel..

Your selection Andrew Jones AJ-5235XT is a perfect match to your receiver. Your receiver will definitely power the speaker package based on the specification on paper.

Hi Kpatel,

Pioneer VSX-924 is more then enough for Pioneer AJ Set
as you will never run speakers on 100% load all time, early Pioneer was selling VSX-524 and Pioneer 5.1 AJ in Bundle.

I am also using Pioneer AJ with Denon X500 which is equivalent to VSX-524, and believe me at 0 Vol level (Vol Level = -80 to +20) neighbor start complaining and I never went beyond 0, Normally I watch movies on -25 to -15,

In this price range AJ was best solution for me and I suppose still it is best solution in this price range.

Some time I feel low voice on surround because of less power in AMP but I am sure it will not happen with VSX-924

For speakers, also consider the Elac Debut series.