Air India Express Crashes at Mangalore Airport

Guys, since I live in Mangalore, I have been flying in / out thru Mangalore airport since 1995, many times a year. Have seen both the runways. Yes, the earlier runway (the shorter one) was a bit scary a couple of times. But, the new one, I have always felt very safe. I have never seen a pilot using more than 60 - 70% of the length for landing. Yes, they go till the other end only to take a turn. I have landed under heavy rains many times. But, have not felt jittery sitting inside the airplane. In fact, I have seen a pilot using just about 50% of shorter runway, when it was raining once.

It is too early to blame the airport or the pilots. Let the experts find the reasons and come out with their conclusions. Let's not get biased by the media. I was watching the news networks on Saturday for some time. I really don't know how some of them were concluding it as pilot errors and some were talking about airport issues. They were talking like our politicians, especially, that guy on Times Now. Knowing the place much better than any one of them, listening to many of their statements was making me sick and finally switched the TV off.

The worst ever experience I had was in Logan airport (Boston) in the middle of the night on 31st Jan 1997 (or was it 1996.. don't remember now...), which I'm sure, will be having equal or better specification than all required standards. There was a snow storm and the visibility was Zero. In this airport, the runway starts at the edge of sea. Our pilot almost landed a bit early, but, before touch down, he realized and took off again. If he had touched down, it would have been in the sea at sub zero temperature and I wouldn't have been writing this note.. It was the split second decision that Pilot took that saved all of us who were in that flight. Certainly, there was no room for pilot error at that specific instance, if we had touched down.