ampere vs wattage

In case people have not forgotten the basics, an amplifier never really "amplifies" the incoming signal. As arj has explained, all the amplifier does is to "create" an output signal from the power supply and the role of the input signal is only to trigger that. Hence for any amplifier, the most critical aspect is its power supply and that is what makes significant differences in its design, construction and performance. Look at any high-end amplifier and you will see that its power supply related components will be massive with a huge reserve to cater to transients.
The other issue is global feedback employed. That too makes a big difference. I belong to that category of people who hates global feedback. Listen to a high-end amplifier without global feedback and others with global feedback, and you will notice significant differences.

Just my 2 cents, please.
murali

I am no expert yet wish to contribute my understanding. So, elec engrs, please do correct me when I am wrong. Some basic issues are covered here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watt

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_impedance

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ampere

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voltage

A simple analogy here:

HowStuffWorks "What are amps, watts, volts and ohms?"

And here:

HowStuffWorks "Electrical Efficiency"

Amplifier A
80watts @ 8ohms, 120watts @ 4ohms

Amplifier B
50watts @ 8ohms, 100watt @ 4ohms, 200watts @ 2ohms

Prima facie, it seems to be more of an issue of flexibility. Amp B seems more accommodating of different speaker combos (which is what the query is all about, I suppose). Like, one has a small room? Fine, connect a low demand set of 50W speakers. Medium sized room would need a 100W set while a large room would require a 200W set.

This is the reason that most high end amps have the option for multiple impedance connections, I suppose. The quality of the output would depend on the quality of the amp as a whole.