Another Hifi Newbie from Philadelphia, PA, USA

mayukh2004

Another Hifi Newbie

My name is Mayukh and I am staying at Philadelphia, PA, USA. I am planning to go back to India(Kolkata) sometimes in the middle of this year. I will ship all my stuff what I collected from last 5 years using ocean freight.

I am a newbie regarding audio and video and I admit that I am not knowledgeable at all regarding a good home theatre. I am trying to learn after reading the threads over here(Thanks to you guys!!).

Now the big question comes in picture? Should I buy a home theatre in US and face all the hassles of Customs charge, shipping charge, step up converter(Don't know what to do with frequency 60 to 50) or should I buy the speakers in India. the benefit of buying over here is 30-40% discounted price in many of the options.

I will be really glad to get your inputs regarding this. I will use my home theatre 60% for music, 40% for movie. Room size is 17' X 12'. I like to listen pop, jazz and high bass party flowing music.

I am a little bit particular about the receiver also. Because I want to connect my Blu ray player, laptop, HD DVD player, CD player, DVD player(I use different players for different purpose to keep the quality), PS3, PS2 with my receiver. I will prefer to go for a 7.2 or 7.1 channel if it fits my budget.
I will also give high priority to the floor standing speakers, so that I don't have to replace it in a short run. My budget is 75K excluding the AV receiver. I am consider ring Aviano series from MS, few low end Dali series, Jamo speakers and Wharedale Diamond series and lastly Bose & sonodyne.