Circuit diagram of preamp for record players

Hi Rajeev
A Magazine "ELEKTOR" has circuit+article for phono preamp (I think with RIAA equilisation). Give me couple of days I will scan it and send it to you
Regards
Hiten

Good Guess Cranky. It Probably must be having ceramic Cartridge.

a preamp only need provide a high enough input impedance and a very small amount of gain, 6 (x2) or 10 (x3) dB should be good
Cranky what is input impedance ? (searched the net but it is confusing) Ceramic cartridges produces good enough voltage so no need of pre amp right ? Sorry I am new to technical things but it is good to acquire knowledge.

BTW If Turntable is old it may not have RIAA Equilisation circuit, or for that matter may only have line out straight from cartridge. so it is good for 78 rpm discs but 45s and 33s require equilisation so can Rajeev put some resistor and use this preamp+RIAA Eq. circuit ? :confused:

Thanks Cranky
This is what I gather (sorry If I sound stupid but I am taking the risk)
in simple language impedance is resistance of total circuitary (for example pre amp) to incoming signal (current ?)
so if impedance is high we need higher signal to drive circuit which may introduce noise interferance etc.
if yes, than ceramic cartridge's high signal (compared to magnetic cartridge) given to low impedance pre amp with resistor in between them will further lower the low fq. (bass) signal
Am I getting it right ? Hope I have not made fool of myself.

so it is good for 78 rpm discs but 45s and 33s require equilisation so can Rajeev put some resistor and use this preamp+RIAA Eq. circuit ? :confused:

Dear Mr. Hiten,

I think you still have a confusion about this. Please note that RIAA equalisation is requirement of moving magnet, moving coil or moving iron cartridge. It is not specific to speed. One can play 45 or 33 RPM records with ceramic cartridge, w/o RIAA equalisation pre amp.

Regards,

analogadikt

Hai All,