DIY media servers

Ashutosh78

Hi experts

Sorry for the long post but I am new at this so have a lot of queries.

I am starting A diy media server project from tomorrow using a old desktop PC.

My aim is to digitise around 35 DVD's and 15 vcds and 40 ACDs and stream it to apple tv using Itunes.

Currently my plan is to format the hard disk (500 gb) install a skeleton windows xp OS.
load Itunes and configure it to start on booting.
Rip all my CD's / DVD's and add them to Itunes.

Since apple tv only plays .MP4 extension i will need to rip them to MP4 format.

My queries.

Which DVD ripping software can i use to ensure that these dvds are ripped with DTS and dd 5.1 sound as well as the menu structure on the
DVD as it is in MP4 format. (some of my DVDs have DTS option as well)

I also want to convert my audio CDs to mp3 but loss less as apple tv does not play FLAC.

is there a application that as soon as i load a dvd to the drive immediately will instruct the system to start ripping process without me having to give any instructions and add it to the itunes. (i know this could be a bit too far fetched.)

I am also looking to minimise the bootup time so ubuntu is an option. Is it user freindly and will itunes work on ubuntu or any work around.

I dont have a spare screen. So once setup i really wanted the server to manage itself without requiring to use any screen. for that i was thinking about using the Remote desktop app on Ipad. any other option.

Any other suggestions/tips are welcome

thanks very much

Wow have i asked something wrong 87 views and no answer

Can somedody help me through the ripping procee and software to use for. That would be a good start

Wow have i asked something wrong 87 views and no answer

Can somedody help me through the ripping procee and software to use for. That would be a good start