Elac 127 or Jamo S 606

subbani

Hi Everybody,

This is my first post in hifivision and looking for help. I have decided to buy the Onkyo 707 receiver and looking for good 5.1 speakers. The room I intend to keep the speakers is about 26 feet x 18 feet with a 20 feet high ceiling. I am getting a good deal on Elac 127 and also lookin at Jamo S606 5.1 speakers. I am unable to finalize since I am not an expert in acoustics. Please help me out.

Also please let me know if there are other good speakers I should consider as well.

Thanks

Last edited:
This is my first post in hifivision.

Welcome, have a great time

I am getting a good deal on Elac 127 and also lookin at Jamo S606 5.1 speakers.

Having heard both on a stereo setup, the Elac 127 was superb, but was a little bright with the Onkyo AVR (forgot which model), but it was splendid for a 5.1 setup; you need that extra crispness for movie duties. Strongly recommended if you're getting for a good price. IMO.

Please avoid that Jamo.

:)

I have Onkyo AVR with Jamo E series 7.1 set up with two towers as main front speakers and my family is quite happy with the set up. In fact, during one monsoon my bro-in-laws top of the range Marantz and our Sony TV burnt out due to voltage fluctuation whereas the Onkyo stood it's ground.

I've owned various Jamo speakers in the last 15 years and still have idle 2 pairs in addition to the 7.1 set up at home. Having also owned Bose 701 & 901, Canton and Infinity and reading various owner reviews on these speakers, I can comfortably say what sounds excellent to me can also sound garbage to others. Since you have a choice, strongly recommend a personal audition.