Entry Level AVR or second hand Denon 1602

astrixgaul

Hi Guys,

Please advice if it makes sense to buy DENON AVR-1602 ?
My usage:
- Using it TataSky HD
- Movies.
- 5.1 setup is ok for me.

I am getting a second hand box for ~10K.
What will I miss with Denon 1602 ?
What should I check before buying a second hand AVR.
Or Should I go for a new Low Cost AVR like Yamaha 371 or something similar.

I am a beginner and this will be my first purchase for my Home Theatre.
My Budget : Minimum is the keyword here !

Any suggestions/advice from the gurus here is most welcome.

Bye

The older receivers may not have HD decoding , if its more than some three years old.. So you will only get Dolby digital or dts processed even if you are connecting a blu ray player.. Again dts and Dolby digital will be 5.1 but it will not have the quality of of HD 5.1 ... So if you are getting an old one, try at least with some receiver with HD audio decoding .. Another thing is your luck! You may get a reciever which just had a service.. After some trouble and the owner wants to give it away fearing more trouble out of it.. ;) and they would nicely say: reason for sale :'upgrading' !

But if your use is only limited to Tata sky and DVD you can go for a used one, without HD provided you get a good bargain, in my opinion spending more than some 8k on an older one without HD is not a good idea..and make sure that you get all accessories like remote or calibration mics with it, as you may not get replacement for them, which are not in production now:)

Don't purchase any type old electronic equipment

Why so? Is it your personal opinion or there is any logic?

---

@astrixgaul - Please don't buy very old AVR as they are dated and will not serve your purpose. For e.g. this Denon 1602 is without any HDMI connection and that is like PC without USB and PCI. Really you can't do without a HDMI in today's time. Skip that ...