ENVIE SPEEDSTER battery charger

shredder

This is for those of us who want to go wireless (who doesnt??) without having to frequently replace batteries on our wireless devices. With the number of wireless devices I have, I realised that I was going to need to invest in rechargeable batteries and a good charger.
img0438gx.jpg

A few years ago, after getting a digital camera, I got some NiMH (Nickel metal hydride) batteries. Lets be more precise. I got 4 Uniross 2500Mah batteries with charger (X-Press 150) included as a set. I was a noob back then (still am :)) and had no idea that there were different types of chargers with different charging currents. All I knew from the instruction manual was that the charger would take about 16 hours to fully charge the 2500Mah cells. 16 hours!!! To make matters worse, the charger did not have automatic cut off, but would keep charging the batteries at a constant low current of 160ma, till infinity, or such time as it was switched off. This type of charger is called a "dumb" charger because it does only one thing- charge batteries at a constant current, irrespective of the amount of existing charge in the battery.