external hard drive questions

nandac

i am quite new to computer audio and had bought a 500 gb external hd sometime back. took a lot of trouble putting atleast 70% of my CD collection of over 1000 CDs into the hd.

the hd was the source for my itunes.

but sometime back my computer was struck by a virus attack. probably due to that for some reason, i am not able to see the contents of the hd anymore by windows explorer. i ran a virus scanner on it and can see all the files being processed. but windows explorer shows the hd as 'no folders' - totally empty.

my itunes still links to it and though its source shows as the itunes directory in C:/, if i delink the hd and try to play any song on itunes, it says the 'source cannot be found'. it can only play songs if the hd is linked.

so two questions here :

1. what do i do about the existing hd? how do i resolve the issue.

2. can i get a hd with some kind of internal ability to play music files etc, so that i can keep it as stand alone and not connected to a computer and thus safe from virus attack etc. i am planning a new hd with lossless files of my entire CD collection and so would like to try a safer tool.

appreciate any insights.

i am quite new to computer audio and had bought a 500 gb external hd sometime back. took a lot of trouble putting atleast 70% of my CD collection of over 1000 CDs into the hd.

but sometime back my computer was struck by a virus attack. probably due to that for some reason, i am not able to see the contents of the hd anymore by windows explorer. i ran a virus scanner on it and can see all the files being processed. but windows explorer shows the hd as 'no folders' - totally empty.

my itunes still links to it and though its source shows as the itunes directory in C:/, if i delink the hd and try to play any song on itunes, it says the 'source cannot be found'. it can only play songs if the hd is linked.

so two questions here :