Finished Preamp MODS

drlowmu

Banned
Banned
I bought this dual mono phono preamp new in 1981. It is called a NEXUS / Bravura Preamplifier. It was built by an EE and two musicians, primarily John Tuttle and Robert W. Fulton. It is solid state, integrated circuits. Like my tube SE amplifier, it has no coupling caps in it !! It's performance has always been superior, so I have kept it, and used it, for the past four decades, with little desire to change to something else.

I just yesterday applied mods I have learned, in the last 15 years, to this phono preamp. The three pictures will tell the tale. Its surprisingly better, primarily now more dynamic, and it plays better timbre of instruments.

I have been collecting LPs since 1962, have perhaps 12,000, so this becomes an important piece of equipment. I adore hearing analogue play back !!

018 edited 2.jpg002  edited 2.jpg002 (2)  EDITED WELL 3.jpg

Thanks for looking. This has been interesting DIY mod to do and hear.

drlowmu

definition.JPG

Last edited:
I bought this dual mono phono preamp new in 1981. It is called a NEXUS / Bravura Preamplifier. It was built by an EE and two musicians, primarily John Tuttle and Robert W. Fulton. It is solid state, integrated circuits. Like my tube SE amplifier, it has no coupling caps in it !! It's performance has always been superior, so I have kept it, and used it, for the past four decades, with little desire to change to something else.

I just yesterday applied mods I have learned, in the last 15 years, to this phono preamp. The three pictures will tell the tale. Its surprisingly better, primarily now more dynamic, and it plays better timbre of instruments.

I have been collecting LPs since 1962, have perhaps 12,000, so this becomes an important piece of equipment. I adore hearing analogue play back !!

View attachment 56475View attachment 56476View attachment 56474

Thanks for looking. This has been interesting DIY mod to do and hear.

drlowmu

View attachment 56477