Has anyone listened to a PCI-slot based amplifier ?

humblebee

Hello!

I remember that some time back Computer PCI (or PCIx) slot based amplifier cards were introduced in the market.
AMD too was behind one if I remember correctly.

Has anyone heard them?
If yes then which one and how was it ?

Could you also please point me as to where I can buy one from ?

I am able to find only one here

Regards

They say,

The CARDamp is a whole new concept of digital amplification.

Which may be why you can't find any others.

I've been owning and browsing sound cards and interfaces since about 2002, and I don't remember anything with sufficient output to drive speakers. Headphones, of course yes, but not speakers. Of course, I might have just not looked in the right place :)

This is a baffling product. DAC? It doesn't say anything about it. Very curious!

EDIT... Well, yes, I was looking in the wrong place all those years. I got this completely wrong: it is not a new product, but an archived, old product. Google finds a mention back in2005.

Last edited:
Bus powered devices are risky to run IMHO with sudden power change requirements.

The one you have shown runs on 12 V supply (?) not PCI/E if I am not mistaken.

I found one here
Its Tripath based. Has a line in at the front.
The only other major issue perhaps would be a good volume control and perhaps that can be given by foobar or other good software bypassing windows volume control.
What do you think?

I am really tempted to buy this one but I guess sourcing from China will involve customs hassles :-(

Oh my MB's PCI slot is busy ...
<Muttering:Gotta consider the other card on PCIe>

Last edited:
Why do you want to go for such devices ?

I want to try.
I figure that that board is all there is in a Topping Amp.
If so, why not this?
And it will be same functionality but much cheaper.
Maybe it will work out. Maybe it wont.
In either case I will learn many things.