Hello everyone..

Mubeen

Hello guys (and girls, if there are any audiophile, gadget loving girls around here? :))

My name is Mubeen and i am currently living in Pune. My fascination with hi-fi audio goes way back to school days, when i would listen to music on a Sony mid-fi system, playing endlessly with its 10 band EQ and speaker placement to get the 'right' sound. It could never satisfy (do we ever get satisfied in this hobby?), but it was pretty good. My knowledge of hi-fi at that time was limited to the regular consumer grade mid-fi systems from Sony, Aiwa and likes, with atrocious claims like 2400 watts(!!) pasted on fronts. I was, at the time, blissfully unaware of what existed above, the world of hi-fi.

I am a software engineer by profession, and that gave me an opportunity to live in UK around 3 yrs. There, while looking for something simple for personal listening, i came across the world of 'hi-fi'. I was hooked, naturally. I was like a child, who suddenly got the key to a room full of all the toys he ever desired. I went on and played with what i could afford, for all the time i stayed there.

During my stay in UK, i have heard and experienced countless amps, speakers, turntables etc. Been to hi-fi shows, showrooms etc. Listened to some really, and i mean really, incredible systems like Meridian, Bryston, ADAM etc.

I also personally owned components from quite a few brands, to name a few, Marantz, Naim, Meridian, Cambridge Audio, Harman Kardon, Pioneer (vintage silver series), PMC, JBL etc. Had a nice turntable too from Pro-ject. Sold it off before before returning to India. Wasnt sure if it would survive in dusty climate here.