Help me choose my receiver (Onkyo TX-SR608, Denon AVR-1911...)

ShaQ.Blogs

heyy guys...I am trying to build my first system. I read a few posts and it immediately caught my attention that there are reliable suggestions & advice here. I have been searching around quite a bit since am a newbie.
I was hoping someone here could help me choose an appropriate receiver. I would use it mainly for music 50% & movies 50% (HiDef, DVD). I would also like to stream movies & music from the comp.

After some reading I was attracted by,
1. Pioneer VSX-1020-K
2. Onkyo TX-SR608
3. Onkyo TX-NR708 (More expensive than 1, 2, 4)
4. Denon AVR-1911
5. Yamaha RX-V667 (Seemed More expensive than 1, 2, 4)

I would like it to have HiDef scaling, 3D support, prefer 7 channel vs 5 channel. I would like to have better sound quality over power (would not mind sacrificing this a bit). My room is around 12x12 ft & I live in Bangalore.

Tips & suggestions are most welcome, since this is my first time It would really help to get advice from you guys who really know this stuff.

Do let me know if you need more info, i'd gladly provide the same.

Last edited:
heyy guys...I am trying to build my first system. I read a few posts and it immediately caught my attention that there are reliable suggestions & advice here. I have been searching around quite a bit since am a newbie.
I was hoping someone here could help me choose an appropriate receiver. I would use it mainly for music 50% & movies 50% (HiDef, DVD). I would also like to stream movies & music from the comp.

After some reading I was attracted by,
1. Pioneer VSX-1020-K
2. Onkyo TX-SR608
3. Onkyo TX-NR708 (More expensive than 1, 2, 4)
4. Denon AVR-1911
5. Yamaha RX-V667 (Seemed More expensive than 1, 2, 4)

I would like it to have HiDef scaling, 3D support, prefer 7 channel vs 5 channel. I would like to have better sound quality over power (would not mind sacrificing this a bit). My room is around 12x12 ft & I live in Bangalore.