Impedance issue with new Onkyo and old Tannoy's

SigurSpaceboy

Hello, new to the forums here and I'm pretty new to receivers as well (I've been doing a ton of research, but still have some questions). I recently purchased an ONKYO TX-NR616 7.2-Channel receiver. I know this specific model has a lot of problems reported, but I bought it refurbished so I thought that might eliminate most of the problems, and so far, nothing has come up and I've very happy with it. I had also planned on buying a new 5.1 speaker set up for it, but the ones I wanted are currently out of stock for a while. They are the Monoprice copies of the Energy Take Classic 5.1 set that everyone seems to think is a good deal for entry level speakers.

So, since I don't want to wait another month or so until I can get the new speaker set, I thought I would piece together a 5.0 system from a rag tag group of speakers I already have. I don't have a sub of any kind, but I'd still like to get some bass, so I used an old set of Tannoy PBM 6.5 Studio monitors as my main LR channels. These speakers are awesome and have some intense low end, but I don't know much about them. I'm also using an old set of bookshelf speakers for my surrounds, and another decent speaker from an old 2.1 set up as my center speaker.

The bookshelf surrounds and the center speaker are all rated at 6 ohms each. The Tannoy's are rated as "8 ohm (4 ohm minimum)" each. The receiver says it's rating is for 6-16 ohms. The Tannoy's rating confuses me a little by saying it has a regular rating plus a minimum.