Need help to decide on an Amp

vartakavi

Hi. I am new to this world and I am buying my first Amp - for a large L shaped hall around 400 sq feet with a 15ft high ceiling. I want to be able to listen to music from anywhere the house - all rooms open into this hall.

I want to use this to listen mostly to music (film, instrumental classical, easy listening both indian and western) and about 30% of the time to watch films. Right now I have an Altec Lansing 2.1 system connected to my PC. I store music on my computer and on my Ipod -- I also have a hundred or so CDs.

I have posted a separate thread on choosing Speakers in the appropriate forum.

I am ready to spend 25 to 30K for the Integrated Amp.

My questions are:

(a) Does the room size have any bearing on the power of the Amp? If yes, how much power (watts per channel) should I look for in the Amp?

(b) From what I have read in this Forum the speakers should ideally have a higher power rating than the Amp - is my understanding correct?

(c) Should I buy the Amp first and audition different type of speakers with it or vice versa?

(d) Do any Amps in this price range come with a USB or Ipod socket? Or will I be better off now buying the Amp that sounds best and later buy an Ipod dock or a CD player with Ipod connectivity?

(e) What Amps should I consider which cost less than 30K?

(f) I am planning to buy a DVD or a Blueray player to connect to my Samsung LCD TV. Can I connect this to the Amp and play my music CDs on this player itself? Do I need to get a separate CD player?

I want to be able to listen to music from anywhere the house - all rooms open into this hall.