nervous to upgrade to Digital..

lucksin

The title sums up the state of my mind. since the time i have stepped into the Hi-Fi world i have been using so to say the most cost effective solution as my source, a starting range DVD player from samsung to feed my amplifier. I have been content so to say and sound has been apt.

Recently i got hold of my iPod after ages which i seemed to have lost and i started playing music through ipod directly feeding my amp's aux input. i have anticipated the sound to be better since its a dedicated music device or atleast at par with my DVD playback. but to surprise the sound from ipod wasn't anywhere near to my current source. it was muddy and it lacked separation of instrument.

CD's being played in a so to say 'cheap' DVD player which costed a fraction of my iPod was way fluidic, cleaner and enjoyable than ripping the same CD's with lossless format in itunes to ipod. i tried with many CDs and high bit rate MP3s but it was a complete waste.

off recently i have been contemplating(i have been planning for long but now i am sure what i want) an upgrade to a dedicated DAC-pre(Naim v1) and PA(NAP100) and sell of my integrated but i seriously am nervous if complete digital solution will be an upgrade since its not possible to get an audition at home with my setup they way i have been used to listing to music.

CD's being played in a so to say 'cheap' DVD player which costed a fraction of my iPod was way fluidic, cleaner and enjoyable than ripping the same CD's with lossless format in itunes to ipod. i tried with many CDs and high bit rate MP3s but it was a complete waste.

off recently i have been contemplating(i have been planning for long but now i am sure what i want) an upgrade to a dedicated DAC-pre(Naim v1) and PA(NAP100) and sell of my integrated but i seriously am nervous if complete digital solution will be an upgrade since its not possible to get an audition at home with my setup they way i have been used to listing to music.