New to Audiophilia

biatche

Hi, I'd begin by saying I'm an audionewbie or audiomoron, whichever relevant. I've just scattered the ashes of my X-FI XtremeMusic and it's time to look for a descendant.

Current setup:
Logitech Z-5300 (5.1 -- There's a mode to make it 2.1 and that's fine I guess since I don't require sounds coming from the rear)
Realtek Onboard Audio (Replacing the X-Fi temporarily, and the X-Fi sounded way better)

Usage:
Music, a lot of lossless audio (40's jazz, classical, retro)
Movies (stereo will do)
Minimal gaming (stereo will do)

Budget:
~$150 (to begin with)

I want sound to sound better in looking for a replacement. The Realtek is unacceptable. I have a speaker setup and I'd like to stick with speakers than headphones.

I've been gathered information for days and it'd be the first time I've heard of DACs. For ~US$150 what are my options to cover my needs? I do not need extremely perfect audio as if I'm a professional listener, but perhaps something better than the Asus Xonar or Creative X-Fi Titanium might be nice.

From what I've gathered, ideally I'd have:

Audioengine D1 Premium (I begin with this)
M2Tech HiFace2 (enters wishlist)
Audioengine A5+ Speakers (enters wishlist)

Is the HiFace2 compatible with the Audioengine D1? Should I be looking at another product?

Thanks in advance.

Audinst hud mx1, it is slightly above your budget at 180$ but highly recommended.
If you dont need volume control/headphone out, look at HRT Music Streamer 2, for 150$.

Audinst hud mx1, it is slightly above your budget at 180$ but highly recommended.
If you dont need volume control/headphone out, look at HRT Music Streamer 2, for 150$.

there are many frustrated "HRT Music Streamer 2" users including our HFv members !! how r u recommending