Please suggest a good low end 5.1 home theater system

godfatherharry

Hi,

I'm Hari from Chennai. I have been looking for options for a good low end 5.1 system but being a total noob, I thought I should seek some advice here.

My budget is about 20k...I don't mind stretching by about 3k-4k if there is a significant difference in offerings.

The options that I have looked at so far are

1) Yamaha YHT 196
2) Pioneer HTP 071
3) Onkyo HT S3300/S3400

The next two options are just the receivers alone. I could start with hooking up my existing 2.1 speakers for now and add a better 5.1 setup later.
1) Denon AVR 1312
2) Yamaha RX V371

I am looking for a simple 5.1 setup for movies, PS3 and music. I need to make a choice rather quickly. Please help!

Also, for all of these the Indian prices are about twice of what is listed on amazon.com....unfair don't you think?

In that budget Onkyo is the best. I've been using one for the wifey's TV (Tata Sky + WDTV) and its good especially for small to medium sized room.

Don't go for anything from the likes of LG, Sony, Philips, Samsung, etc. Stick with Onkyo or Yamaha HTIBs.

onkyo 3400 is the best choice in ur budget current price is being 26k.......i am using this really good with tatasky hd DD..must be more good with DTS HD and DTSHDMA or dolby tru hd..have not tested those yet....as I dont own a br player right now.
yamaha 296 if avilable within 25k in ur area or online..have a demo of that also...u may like the sound...

as musicbee said pls pls dont go to sony lg pana or any htibs,they are complete loss of ur hard earned money.......stick to onkyo/yamaha/denon.

denon 1312xp htib set is avilable at 34k at profx...but that can be more of ur budget..

only avr?? then u shd buy something better and separate spkers.....can be costly.btw what 2.1 spker u have right now u r planning to hook up with
in my opinion demo onkyo 3400/yam 296..if you are happy with the powers...cool.