Recommend 40' LCD - NO to Samsung

master007

Hey All,
I bought Samsung 40B550 last year and it developed a fault last month, which the Samsung after about a month are not able to replace the part or even LCD (and that too after too much quarreling). Finally, they have settled to refund back my money for the LCD.

I'm visiting this forum after about 4 months and in here for my search for a new 40'LCD. So, I'm new to this again (atleast for current models). Please suggest the current good models available in the market at same price bracket. Please don't recommend Samsung (personally I'LL NEVER BUY THIS AGAIN, even on Googling you can find most complaints are from Samsung among other brands) and also no Sony (will be expensive for me).

Thanks & Regards

EDIT: hah.. forget about the usage
80% SD TV
20% Gaming + HD Movies (Through HDMI via PC)

Last edited:
Since you said no Samsung here are the other obvious choices:

You could have a look at the Philips 5 and 7 series,the LG SL90 or Sony NX series.

You have to compare them in a multi branded store and choose what you like after playing around with the settings.

personally i prefer Philips in LCD.

well you can get a lemon in any brand,i know you are angry with the samsung,but to dismiss their lcds just like that isn't a good move,the upcoming C5xx are your options,but if its still NO for a samsung then the sony Ex400 is good(especialy in SD),since you find them expensive you can try buying them in the grey market where it costs about 47k to 48k.

other then that your options are limited,in the 40" segment the philips 40" 5609 doesn't look as good as the smaller 32",looks a bit washed out ,but the 40" 7409 is better,comes with philips version of 100hz although it will be more expensive then the samsung series 5 that you bought and not every store sells a philips.

thnx for the reply, will look for Philips series as mentioned by you...

More replies are welcome.