Replacing AT ATH-M50 - Need advice

newnikonian

Hi Friends, I have been using AT ATH-M50 for nearly 12 years and it is still going strong. But the head band have lost the grip and replacement bands and PADs could not restore the fit.

I am looking to replace that with similar at 12 to 15k budget. I have been reading through the old threads trying to get a feel on which to buy..... I could not find AT ATH-MSR7 in stock. Instead of getting M50x again I am considering BEYERDYNAMIC - DT 990 PRO / 770 PRO. Both are at the same price. But it is said DT 990 might need an amp to drive to its potential..... I live in Coimbatore so possibility of getting a audition of these are very slim.....

I have an old Topping TP20-MK2 MKII amp unused... can I use it to drive the DT990?? What cable I would need since the amp just have RCA out and no headphone jack....

Are there better alternatives available? I am not a bass head and I am not a big fan of very bright highs which might be a con with DT990. I mainly listen Pop, Rock, Hip hop and occasional Classical Carnatic / Instrumentals.....

Please advice ..... I find prices discussed in here is way lower than the online prices.... What is the secret :) and share best place to buy online....

I am not a big time headphones guy, but have recently started hearing more on headphones.
I have a ATH-M50X, Sennheiser HD598SE, Philips SHP-9500 and the Hifiman Deva Pro. My current preference is the Hifiman (planar headphones).
I either drive it directly from my LG V30 or through the Bluemini R2R headphone amp.
The Deva Pro with the Bluemini is a killer combination, offering convenience, cable-free and great sound.
It is exactly same as ATH-M50x with the FiiO BTA10 which also I possess.