Room Acoustics for cheap

yellow warrior

Hello All,

Before I begin, let me just say a big Hi to all as I am new to this forum. SO, HI! :)

I have a room at home which I would like to use for music making.

I have a set of KRK Rokit 5" monitors, Tascam US-122 Soundcard, which goes through a Dell laptop and a 2 octave midi keyboard. The music is make is mostly electronic that ranges from ambient to dance tracks.

Please note I am by no means a pro and only do this as a hobby. :)

Now, I am looking at treating my room for acoustics but I don't have a lot of money.

I read somewhere that i can make my own Bass Traps, Absorbers and Diffusers? Once I make them where do i need to place them in the room? How far should the speakers be from the wall/ corners? How many will i need? Do i need all three i.e Bass traps, Absorbers and Diffusers? So many questions... :)

If someone can help or can direct me to a link with all the info I would be most grateful!

Thank you!

YW

Hi YW,
Welcome to HFV:)

Since you have posted in the Acoustics section, I am assuming you have read the various threads here already. While, we have some threads on Home Theater build and Sound Absorption, we do not have anything specifically for a Listening Room/Recording Studio.

I would recommend you read at below mentioned link as this will clarify a lot of your initial doubts as Ethan has explained it in a very clear to understand language.

Acoustic Treatment and Design for Recording Studios and Listening Rooms

Also, checkout the thread where member 1000w has made his own bass traps.

How far should the speakers be from the wall/ corners?

If someone can help or can direct me to a link with all the info I would be most grateful!

Thank you!

YW

even i was on the look out for some enlightenment on room designs, speaker placements etc and found a wealth of info here in this cardas audio site..
http://www.cardas.com/pdf/roomsetup.pdf