Vinyl Sound

spacemonkey

Hey guys
I have been away for a while on work and havent been able to report back to this forum. I am a recent Vinyl guy. I bought a second hand turntable from Mr. Sushil Anand. Its a Yamaha C-300 with a standard cartridge. I have this tt hooked up through the CNC Phonostage that Sachin and Mr. Mishra put together for me to a Denon 1612.

I am quite disappointed in this setup. It doesnt sound as nice as it should. Its lacking a lot of midrange and the audio is kinda crackling. I need to crank up the volume on the Denon to about -10dB for it to even begin producing sound through this setup while I can run a HDMI at -20dB and have it sound really loud and full on my Wharfedale 9.1's.

What could I be doing wrong with this TT setup? I am just a beginner. So any and all feedback is welcome.

Thanks

Brand new Phono Stage with brand new batteries.
How would i check my Cart/Cart wires?

Why would it sound like its missing mid range and break apart like that?
It cant be my amp or my speakers would it?

Not sure but If I remember that phonostage had dipswitches for settings. Maybe sachin will help. For cartridge wires just take a look beneath the headshell if wires are connected properly.
Why would it sound like its missing mid range and break apart like that?
It cant be my amp or my speakers would it?
Don't know. But eliminating possible doubts we can come to exact cause.

Last edited:
Does the amp have preset equalisation or ambient choices? Such as Catherdral, Surround, etc? You should be on 2 channel analog output and not on a 5.1 or these preset equalised modes.

Check the earthing wire again. Are the RCA cables plugged into the correct input points?

Is the arm balanced? Is the tracking force as per specs?

A cracking sound to me says that you should check these points above. Good luck

Hey guys