Acoustic Panels & Diffusers

kratu

Hola,

It goes without saying that small enhancements to the room, can make a lot of difference in the sound. I'd like to make incremental changes to the room to enhance the music. Specifically, I'd like to reduce echos and reverbs, unwanted standing waves. I hope to make the bass frequencies more tighter and accurate, vocals more lively ... you get the drift.

My room is a standard 12x12' (120sft) bedroom. One of the ways, is to have a sofa, bookshelf or a thicker carpet. I'm exploring the idea of getting acoustic panels, absorbers and diffusers. I'm quite new to this. What kind of things should I consider? There are many kinds of material here and I might need to understand what/how does it make a difference.

Hey Kratu

Am not an expert but will share my small experience
my HT room is smaller 11.5 ft by 9.5 ft and had a lot of echo and reverbs and since my sub is not very strong ( read good) no problems of taming the low end, so i just picked up mmt accoustic foam (from amazon.in) and put them up on the first reflection points, i could feel the difference immediately , now i can actually feel the surround instead of chaos earlier, hope this helps ( i have a 7.1 setup, no atmos though)

Hola,

It goes without saying that small enhancements to the room, can make a lot of difference in the sound. I'd like to make incremental changes to the room to enhance the music. Specifically, I'd like to reduce echos and reverbs, unwanted standing waves. I hope to make the bass frequencies more tighter and accurate, vocals more lively ... you get the drift.

My room is a standard 12x12' (120sft) bedroom. One of the ways, is to have a sofa, bookshelf or a thicker carpet. I'm exploring the idea of getting acoustic panels, absorbers and diffusers. I'm quite new to this. What kind of things should I consider? There are many kinds of material here and I might need to understand what/how does it make a difference.