Affordable Speakers for Denon 1312

akhilkhanuja

Dear All,

This is my first post and i am a total newbie. I have used the legendary Logitech Z-5500 for 1.5 yrs and then decided to buy a proper HTIB.

My budget was strictly within 30K so after a lot of R&D and auditioning I shortlisted - Yamaha YHT 196/296/298, Onkyo 3400/3500 and Denon DHT 1312XP packages.

I ended up with Denon DHT-1312XP. My reasons for the same -Nice basic receiver capable of exoansion to 7.1 later, Nice 10Kg Active Sub.

I knew that I would be disappointed with the package sat speakers but I had planned to upgrade in a phased manner as budget is always a constraint.

I now want to change the fronts first, then a month later will change the centers. I will use the supplied satellites for sorround.

My usage is 70% Music - Source - is 100 GB of Music from my PC, Original Audio CDs played on a Sony BDP s-190 Blu-Ray player and content via USB too.

I am a bass freak & was never disappointed with the bass of my Z-5500's massive sub. The Denon sub by the way is nice too.

My budget for a pair of front speakers -

If Bookshelf - 15-16K and the choices are Sonodyne Sonus wooden bookshelves, Polk Tsi100 or Polk Tsi 200.

If Floorstanding - Sonodyne Sonus 2504 - cost 20800 MRP without any discount.

Gurus and respected veterans - Pls suggest which speakers would sound best with the Power which my AVR 1312 is capable of providing i.e. 75 Watts per ch on 8 ohms and 110 Watts per ch at 6 ohms.

Since I am from Kolkata Sonodyne is always nearby. ProFX is also near my house.

Hence I want Gurus and senior members to suggest the best sounding speaker from the choices mentioned above only.

Akhil.

Dada, my budget is very very tight. And I am not able to tolerate the bundled speakers any more !!

I had gone today to the Sonodyne Store @ Mani Sq Mall today and have listened to the Sonus 2504 FS along with the BS speakers Sonus 1501.