Astell & Kern AK Jr vs Fiio X3 ii? AK worth the extra cash?

Tony_canuck

My question is, with AK dropping the price of their AK Jr DAP, is it worth the extra cash over a Fiio X3 gen 2?

Some background about me, I am just getting into hi res music, and the price point and features of the Fiio seemed like a good place to start for my first DAP.

However, while researching, I noticed the rave reviews of the AK Jr, and with the recent price drops it now is within reach of the X3.

For someone getting into hi res music, should I start with the X3 now and use it for a few years before upgrading? Or is the sound SO much better that I would regret spending the extra cash.

Btw I should mention that while I have an old pair of headphones (Shure 440) I can buy a new pair of headphones + the X3 for the same price as the AK Jr. I'm leaning towards that combo, X3 + new headphones, but would I regret not getting the AK Jr???

Thanks so much!!!

I own AK Jr and i have heard Fiio X3. Jr is definitely better than Fiio X3. In fact, i liked it better than Fiio X5 (1st version).

Can you elaborate what is your budget ?

For the time I am using http://www.amazon.com prices
AK Jr 64GB is showing at $310
Fiio X3 is $169 and with 128 GB card is $210

Is the sound of Ak Jr 50% better ? Probably not

However, if you okay to expand your budget a bit, I think you should REALLY look at this new Fiio X5

The X5 is Android-based and seems to be epic for its asking price of $399
(On Head-fi forum Fiio says suggested INR price will be 27299)

I have owned both a X3 first gen and X1 first gen - and while I LOVE the audio quality of Fiio, scrolling through large library of songs using that X1 wheel is a PAIN in the ass (don't even get me started on the button scrolling on X3 first gen).
And given its own control button layout as well as OS, it is difficult to be used by anyone else. So it is sort of anti-social :D