Attempting a passive DAC

Hari Iyer

After using an audio transformer coupled based passive DAC for the LPF, i shall now be attempting a passive DAC based on using just resistors, inductors and capacitors. Nothing complex, but just a simple Butterworth based filter. There are two poles in series coupled back-to-back for allowing roll-off at 44Khz and 108Khz. I am not sure how much attenuation they would provide as i am still learning to use the LTspice simulator. Below is the simple schematic,
1701921280214.jpeg

Not sure if anyone in the forum have tried this before. If yes, need suggestions / inputs. Thanks.

Last edited:
After using an audio transformer coupled based passive DAC for the LPF, i shall now be attempting a passive DAC based on using just resistors, inductors and capacitors. Nothing complex, but just a simple Butterworth based filter. There are two poles in series coupled back-to-back for allowing roll-off at 44Khz and 108Khz. I am not sure how much attenuation they would provide as i am still learning to use the LTspice simulator. Below is the simple schematic,
View attachment 81759

Not sure if anyone in the forum have tried this before. If yes, need suggestions / inputs. Thanks.
How do you feed the digital signal to this ? Did you mean an analog filter here?

How do you feed the digital signal to this ? Did you mean an analog filter here?
I will be feeding the signal after the DAC chip, the Iout+ and Iout- signal after the DAC chip will be fed. This is a passive LPF without any op-amps or discrete transistor or tubes. There is a growing trend of DIYers doing this past 15 years as there are some issues with the active implmentation. Transformer implementation is good, but the cost of the audio transformer does not justify DIY attempt.

i have today ordered the components for this built and will do a P2P wiring as there are just few components.