Cable pathways between audio components can affect perceived sound quality

Good read, Thanks for sharing; people who believe their ears always knew that ICs do make a difference.

Few days ago, My co-brother (totally Noob as far as audiophilia is concerned, a SW Engineer by Profession) was listening to his favourite songs on my setup and was quite impressed with the SQ. Amazon guy delivered a Optical cable I had ordered, & I intuitively Changed the previous MX Optical cable to new Cable Creation Optical Cable (From MacBook to DAC): the SQ changed from Warm to Less Warmer Tonality, very minimal difference as far as i know. But, He was spot on to pick up the difference instantly, and pointed it out correctly. Kids are quite sensitive to picking up such changes instantly, I have numerous experiences with my daughters picking up the minute SQ changes more effortlessly. Most people face the problem in putting it in correct words, so we are limited by our vocabulary. So you just need to listen with a open mind and without prejudices.

Conclusions from the article for the people with Paucity of time.

"4 CONCLUSIONS
High-end audio is a subject that is shrouded in controversy. Aside from loudspeakers, consumers exhibit varying degrees of skepticism as to what affects sonic performance. The most contentious ingredient in the chain is the interconnection between components, which concerns both the topology (balanced versus single-ended) and the characteristics of the cable itself. This work shows that two system configurations differing only by the interconnect pathway are audibly discernable, even by average listeners with no special experience in music or audio. To the author’s knowledge, this may represent the smallest change in an audio system proven to be discernable through IRB approved blind listening tests.