Design speakers WITHOUT any measurements

Hari Iyer

As the title suggest - i would once in my lifetime try this method of speaker design using only subjective listening with some music. Many have been using this method with reasonable amount of success and there may be some wisdom in their approach. I am a complete noob with this method and will like to learn from experts using this approach (Nothing to loose either).

For this i may keep my measurement mic in lock and key and not measure unless i have completed the speaker design by only subjective listening. This will give me a very good assessment of how much my listening is skewed vis-a-vis the measurement. Having said all this - i dont even know where to start from and will certainly look for guidance from other FMs about their success stories.

Eagerly awaiting your responses.

What a topic. Maybe it's more local to you guys? People might keep some of that to themselves as it's so hard-won, but this board is special, too, so who knows? All I know about is what people used to do (before gear prices decreased enough for diy'ers to obtain), but I'm thinking you want contemporary practices. If nothing else, it gives me a chance to post one of my favorite quotes:

"The first step in good loudspeaker design must be to inquire as to the intention of the device."
- Stan White

I know you're interested in the process, but we need a bit of a "spec" (how big, how loud, how low) about what you want to use for your test mule. Size of room where it needs to do that would help as well. Assuming high-economy implicit (?)