• Hello and Welcome to HiFiVision.com - an online community for the home entertainment and tech enthusiasts!

    If you would like to ask a question, participate in a discussion and view attachments please Register yourself.

Discrete Dynamics Class A Pre-Amplifier

Rega

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
After reading a lot of positive reviews from fellow DIY members, I also made up my mind to make this Pre-Amplifier. I will be paring the same with my Jean Hiraga Super 30 Class A Power Amplifier.

I immediately contacted @Aniket. Got the kit from him, the kit was complete assembled and tested. I don't need the Headphone connection hence it was omitted. The quality of PCB was best & equally good components were used. Today I made a temporary wiring to test the kit. On the first Power On, it was a nice surprise, the pre-amp was dead silent. No hum no hiss. I played some tracks and it was playing them flawlessly & sound was very transparent. The sound was as good as the sound from my Hiraga. There was no coloration to the sound signature which i used to listen without the Pre Amp on my Hiraga (The sound of Hiraga is my reference for any kind of setup). I am very poor to describe the sound and presenting it. I think there are already thread on this topic where other members have already shared their experiences.

What i gained is the Gain in Power factor. Sometimes I use to feel there was not enough power when i need to play music on extra loud volume. But After Adding the pre-amp to chain I have now enough power from amp to drive the speakers on the Extra loud side.

My earlier setup was.
PC ---> Class A Power Amp (Jean Hiraga Super 30) ---> Speakers.

My Present Setup.
PC ---> DD Class A Pre Amp ---> Class A Power Amp (Jean Hiraga Super 30) ---> Speakers.

I also tested this pre-amp with my Class AB Power Amplifier "PINNACLE AB200", It did made some magic with its sound. It was like adding a pinch of salt in food. There was some signature of class A sound, which i liked. The Vocals and Highs were on a different level (for me they were on the betterside). I think this made me to a conclusion that this Pre Amp will definately benifit to the members who need a great Pre Amplifier for their class AB amplifiers.

Enjoy the below photos of testing.






I have decided to make custom enclosure for this pre-amp. Below is the 3D Layout. - Face Plate is yet to be designed.




Below is the flat 2D layout which is used for cutting the sheet metal on a CNC laser cutting machine.


Below is the photo of actual cutting done.






Now the sheets are in bending process where it will take shape of enclosure after that it will be sent for power coating. Till then I will design the Face Plate. Aluminum Machining cost on CNC is too much hence I will be going with Acrylic just like my other projects.

Sadik
 
SPONSORED ADS

SPONSORED ADS

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
Forgot to Mention the Dimensions of Enclosure.

The Dimensions are 300 mm Wide x 200 mm Deep x 50 mm Height (Internal Dimensions)
 

MaSh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
2,785
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
Oh, lovely have been waiting for this. Finally, it's happening.

MaSh
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Thane
Rock n roll! I think i am getting an itch to get one myself. :cool:
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
Got the enclosures and just realized my mistake. I should have mirrored the profile before giving it for cutting.

The enclosure after bending I got is the mirror copy of what i actually designed. But that's fine for me i can still use the enclosure. But I did learned a new lesson. In my next built I will take care about it.

Below is the designed layout. (Power Button on Left Side & Volume control on Right )

Below is what i got in actual. (Mirror copy - Power Button on Right Side & Volume control on Left & same with internal layout too)


Back Side


Chassis


Cover


Now the enclosure is given for powder coating (Black Textured) I will get it back by Thursday.

Sadik
 

MaSh

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
2,785
Points
113
Location
Bangalore
This would be a powerful tool if a good DAC could be integrated. Any plans of doing that?

MaSh
 

jls001

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
6,055
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
A very happy user here:)

I will change all the RCA sockets of my cabinet to something new from Neutrik. I'm re-using an old buffer cabinet. Acrylic front panel also needs to change to suit volume knob and headphone jack position.
 

hydrovac

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
858
Points
93
Location
Hyderabad
Forgot to Mention the Dimensions of Enclosure.

The Dimensions are 300 mm Wide x 200 mm Deep x 50 mm Height (Internal Dimensions)

Nice sadik!

You seem to have located a decent sheet metal fabricator. Is the sheet used 1mm?
Just curious, any particular reason for choosing non standard dimensions for the cab... do you have a power amp to match this width?

enjoy the build!

...
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
This would be a powerful tool if a good DAC could be integrated. Any plans of doing that?

MaSh
No plans for DAC.

A very happy user here:)

I will change all the RCA sockets of my cabinet to something new from Neutrik. I'm re-using an old buffer cabinet. Acrylic front panel also needs to change to suit volume knob and headphone jack position.
I can understand you happiness. This is one of a great Pre Amplifier. All I can say is "It is more valuable than the bucks spent".

Nice sadik!

You seem to have located a decent sheet metal fabricator. Is the sheet used 1mm?
Just curious, any particular reason for choosing non standard dimensions for the cab... do you have a power amp to match this width?

enjoy the build!

...
The metal is 1.5 mm thick. No reason for going with non-standard Dimensions. I needed a small enclosure hence went for a small size.
 

jmascreen

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
1,196
Points
83
Location
Pune
How is the tonality etc compared to B1/DCB1?
 
SPONSORED ADS

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
How is the tonality etc compared to B1/DCB1?
This Pre Amp can create magic for amplifiers of Class AB, C, D, etc. It will add a little tonal character of class A Amp. (like I said its like adding salt to food to get that taste) The Mids and Highs will be more open.

Hey guys, just booked one from Sachin. Is there any option to use xlr connections instead of rca. I am not very technical, but is it possible?
Why you need XLR?
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Thane
Hey guys, just booked one from Sachin. Is there any option to use xlr connections instead of rca. I am not very technical, but is it possible?
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Thane
My amp takes both RCA and XLR, so was just wondering. Also to see if it really does make any difference audibly.
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
As far as i have read i can say the XLR is required where the distance between amp and source is very long. They are mostly used in PA application.
 

tuff

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2014
Messages
1,899
Points
113
Location
Thane
True. But it seems there is a trend now of adding XLR connectors for home audio gear. Not that I am keen on it, but if it's a possibility, might as well go that one extra step and sleep peacefully, right? ;)
 

sadik

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
725
Points
93
Location
Vadodara
You will need to make a converter from unbalance to balance input. Read here related to the converter schematic.
 

jls001

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
6,055
Points
113
Location
Mumbai
Hey guys, just booked one from Sachin. Is there any option to use xlr connections instead of rca. I am not very technical, but is it possible?
This preamp is designed to be single ended.
 
SPONSORED ADS

Top