Do i need an amplifier ? If so, which one?

Imrahn

First of all, am a complete noob at hifi and as such, plz go easy on me :)

As my very FIRST foray into audiophile world, i decided to go for a Yamaha RXV-663 receiver with a Wharfedale 9.1 setup( 4 x 9.1, 1 x 9.CS and 1 x SW-150)....

Should getting a amplifier for the speakers provide much better audio for me? Or will the receiver suffice? If an amp is recommended, plz recommend a cost effective one in the range of 10k or so for the 5.1 setup.

Thanx in advance for any sort of help.

Regards

Imrahn

If you want for music,Norge goes well with Wharf as posted by other members.
Marantz amp too can match with them.

Searching the forums before posting has the following global, local, national, social, and civic benefits (aside from preventing global warming):

1. It reduces the global Internet bandwidth consumption for needless posts, where information already resides in the HFV database. This reduces global warming (reducing consumption of any resource reduces global warming, according to latest (pseudo) scientific studies).

2. It reduces local Indian bandwidth by eliminating member replies to needless posts. This reduces global warming (see point 1. for explanation).

3. It reduces wear and tear of keyboards, fingers, and mice, both for writing and replying to needless posts. This reduces need to recycle these items early, again reducing global warming.

4. It reduces energy consumption of local, remote computers, the HFV server, and the HFV moderators to analyse, host, and store needless posts and threads spawning from them. This (as you have guessed) reduces global warming.

5. It helps the social and family fabric of our members by allowing them to spend less time replying to needless posts, thus allowing more time spent with either their music or their loved ones. This leads to social, civic, and national harmony. This also reduces global warming (because I say so).