Do I really need an Amplifier ?

Music Freak

Hi,

Since I'm new to certain hi-fi components, like, Amplifiers, I need your help to clarify my doubt.

Recently, I purchased a cassette deck. I have connected it to the Audio In (L & R speakers) of my mini hi-fi system whose power O/P is 470W RMS. This results in a decent O/P.

My question is., Do I really need to buy an amplifier and then connect it b/w the deck and speakers/Is it always recommended that we use an amplifier & then connect it to the speakers rather than connecting the speakers directly to the source ?

Please clarify.

Thanks!

Everybody starts their audio journey like this (me included), and so I will try not to laugh.

I would be very surprised if your mini-hifi puts out more than 5 watts per channel continuous average power at less than 1% THD. That would be decent for a small to somewhat medium sized rooms. 470 watts quoted by the manufacturer is just rubbish, if not fraudulent. I remember that in late 1990s there was case filed against T-Series by a consumer forum for quoting 10,000 watts power output for a mini-hifi system that it manufactured.

Start your journey by buying a low cost stereo amplifier from an established hifi brand like Cambridge Audio (Topaz AM-5 comes to my mind). You will know what it is when you listen to it.

Last edited:
Thanks so much Rabepobemababe for being understanding.

Yes, I'm still wondering about this 470W RMS & your confirmation of 5W :) Seems, I have a long way to go in understanding the term "Sound". Alright, let me take a note of your suggestion.

Thanks again!

Amplification is not about power output and how powerful the speakers sound. Amplifiers need to be tested on fidelity, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and other such factors. A mini hifi system tries to bring "bang-for-the-buck" system by combining lot of features. Most people are impressed by high power rating and features like 'bass boost', etc. That is why many such system advertise the power in PMPO.