Do's and Dont's of Home Theater Systems

Ispahir

Hello

I am not sure if such a thread exists as I couldn't find one. I am new to Home Theater and AVR world and a noob when it comes to the technicalities. I thought it would be a great idea if the members can share their advise and expertise on Dos and Don'ts of a Home Theater System. I've come to learn that new AVRs don't have much of a life compared to the old models. So what what pointers you'll give to make sure the AVR delivers a seamless performance and has a longer life.

Basics - I will list 10 points to start with
  1. Ensure clean power supply with proper earthing. - identify the terminal marked L on the plug and make sure it goes into the corresponding side in the plug point (the side where the tester glows!)
  2. Keep it well ventilated while in use but make sure dust does not get in - easier said than done!
  3. Allow the AVR to cool down before closing if it is behind a glass door or similar
  4. Set the AVR default volume to a low value (It is called power on volume in denon)
  5. Whenever there is a weather disturbance - lightning, thunder or even signs of it
    • Remove the ethernet cable
    • Remove DTH hdmi cable (from the set top box end)
    • External antenna if any
  6. Remove usb devices when not in use - if you are worried about frequent plug/unplugs damaging the usb port of the AVR use an extender cable
  7. Cap your AVR volume to say 70% of total power especially if you have children
  8. Do not let the AVR auto-update its software. If an update alert comes on delay the update for a month or so to make sure there are no inherent bugs in the update and make sure that the update really has a significant benefit! If your AVR is working to your satisfaction, there is generally no need to go for an update. Updates are one of the most reasons an AVR gets bricked