Guidance on First Home Theater needed

Sayan.jusl

Hi,

I am from Kolkata and this is my first attempt at building a home theater :lol:. I am new to all this technical jargon and would thus require your expert guidance.

Requirements : Movies (80%), Music(10%), Gaming(10%)
Room Size : 12 x 16
Display : LG 42" 3D Led (supports ARC and has 4 HDMI)
Budget - ~45K +/- tolerance (since it is going to be a long term investment)

I need to connect my TV (use ARC to watch movies/ sports from live TV), HD Set top box, BD player and leave scope for future expansions.

Initially I thought about going for the Yamaha YHT-299 HTiB, but after further research getting inclined towards separate components.Boston Acoustics Soundware XS 5.1 + Yamaha RX v373 looks nice, but I am open to ALL suggestions.

Q1. Is there any place to demo any systems in Kolkata (preferably north)
Q2. What about the warranty on any product?

Please HELP.

Hi

To be honest, Yamaha is not like before, the same applies to Denon and Bose too...in the early 90s, stuff was really good, today everything is so commercially made that quality is forgotten.

I owned several HT systems for the past 11 years (Denon / Yamaha / Pioneer / Harmon Kardon / Bose) and nothing compares to the performance of a Marantz receiver which is the best for movies / music / gaming etc. You can click on my user name and see the various related posts....

See this link about amplifiers....

AV Receiver and Amplifier Power Ratings Trends: How and Why Wattage Ratings are Manipulated | Audioholics

Nowadays AVRs are just about noise and who is better than the other. Only a few companies like NAD, Cambridge Audio and Marantz do continuous reviews and enhancements to ensure that the customer (us) have the best experience with their products. Marantz has been in the business for 50 years and has never gone down on quality.