Help needed for selecting a good 12 inch subwoofer for Marantz SR6007

anishasok

Hi Experts,

I am a newbie in the Hi-Fi world. On an impulsive mood, I ordered one Marantz SR6007 from HifiMart (on 22nd Feb). Waiting for the same to arrive via overnite express (shipped on 24th, arrived @ Mumbai on 25th, Dispatched to Hyderabad on 1st May ???? Not sure when it is gonna reach me). Overnite express really sucks that way and this waiting period is horrible and driving me :mad:

Thinking about a 2.1 setup at this point in time and will later upgrade to a full 7.1 or 7.2 setup by end of the year. I am planning to reuse my year old Yamaha-NS8390 floor standers for the time being. Now I am confused about the subs as most of the budget subs which I have read about are capable of dealing from 35Hz only which my Yamaha might be able to handle (at least as per the spec/doc).

So looking for a 12" sub which can play real low frequencies (like 18Hz onwards). Please provide some suggestions on good sub woofers under 50K bracket. I like the deep tight bass which I can feel and thumps my chest and not the boomy ones which just leaves a feeling of bass.

Am planning for some auditions next weekends @ SBT Corporation and Vector Systems and your suggestions will help me during the auditions.

One sub which is in my mind currently is Polk DSW Pro 650.

Room Size : 33 ft x 14 ft (Thinking of moving to a dedicated room 12 x 12 with acoustics adjustments by year end)
Usage : 60% Movies; 30% Music and 10% Games (FPS/Racing)
Blu-ray Players : Sony PS3 and Pioneer BDP-440

Cheers,
Anish

Thanks Karthi. Sure I'll be including the mentioned item :) This looks really promising and how can I get hold of one in Hyderabad.

Last edited:
A Rs75000 AVR, plans for a Rs70,000 sub and only Rs18000 on the fronts!! If my prices are correct I think you should be looking at upgrading your fronts first unless you are totally into Bass.